Course search

Fill keyword to seek for courses

Print Friendly, PDF & Email

The AVU started offering scholarships to train pre-service and in-service teachers in 2010 as part of the Phase I Multinational Project funded by the African Development Bank (AfDB). The Scholarships covered ICT Basic Skills and ICT Integration in Education in Zambia, Somalia, Uganda, Kenya, Senegal and Tanzania. A total of 601 scholarships were offered.  The Training was very successful and some of the participating institutions requested for further scholarships to train more teachers during the period 2013 – 2014.  The institutions included the University of Zambia, the Open University of Tanzania, and Université Cheikh Anta Diop – Senegal and the University of Nairobi.

More scholarships were offered to the above institutions during Phase II of the Multinational Project funded by the AfDB. The Open University of Tanzania conducted the training in seven Regions in Tanzania, training a total of 138 Trainees. Due to attrition, the number that completed the Training successfully was 107. The training supported female teachers as well as teachers from disadvantaged backgrounds to improve their ICT literacy skills. The AVU offered partial scholarships to the teachers and the Ministry of Higher Education and Vocational Training in Tanzania also supported the initiative. The Open University of Tanzania offered expertise and equipment (Computer laboratories) which are established in 13 Regions in Tanzania.

Additional scholarships were offered in Zambia, Kenya and Senegal. In Zambia 60 female Teachers were trained at two regional centers by the University of Zambia. The Ministry of Education supported the program as it was timely in equipping the Teachers with the required skills, as the government had introduced computer skills in the curriculum at all levels. In Kenya, the University of Nairobi trained 38 Teachers and in Senegal, Université Cheikh Anta Diop had 30 Trainees completing the program.

The AVU Scholarships will be extended to the following institutions in 2016:

1.Benin 1.Université Abomey Calavi
2.     Burkina Fasso 2.Institut des Sciences
3.     Université de Ouagadougou
3.     Burundi 4.     Université Lumière de Bujumbura
4.     Cameroun 5.     Université de Douala
5.     Cabo Verde 6.     Universidade de Cabo Verde
6.     Republique Democratique du Congo 7.     Institut Supérieur Pédagogique de la Gombe
7.     The Gambia 8.     The University of The Gambia
8.     Ghana 9.     Ghana Institute of Management and Public Administration
10.  Kwame Nkrumah University of Science and Technology
11.  University of Education,Winneba
9.     Guiné-Bissau 12.  Escola Superior de Educacao
10.  Kenya 13.  Egerton University
14.  Kenyatta University
11.  Mali 15.  Ecole Normale Supérieure de Bamako
16.  Université des Sciences, des Techniques et Technologies de Bamako (UTTB)
12.  Mauritanie 17.  Université de Nouakchott
13.  Mozambique 18.  Universidade Pedagógica
14.  Niger 19.  Université Abdou Moumouni de Niamey
15.  Nigeria 20.  University of Port Harcourt
16.  Republic of South Sudan 21.  University of Juba
17.  Republic of the Sudan 22.  Open University of Sudan
18.  Rwanda 23.  University of Rwanda
19.  Senegal 24.  Université Cheikh Anta Diop
25.  Université Gaston Berger
20.  Tanzania 26.  University of Dar-es- Salaam
21.  Ethiopia 27.  Addis Ababa University

How to apply
The selection of winners is made based on the criteria for awarding scholarships.
There are two sets of processes:
Scholarship to students enrolled in programs and courses AVU.
Exchange learners enrolled in partner institutions.